Revival

21 May

image

After a long hiatus, it is my pleasure to announce that the Day Worker Center blog is officially back in action. I speak very little Spanish but being around the wonderful volunteers and community that the Center brings in will fix this in due time. I walked into the Center this morning to meet with the staff and discovered all the ways I could help and learn.
My journey starts on the other side of the country. I spent most of my childhood in the Midwest wishing I could get back to California. I missed the variety of people, languages, and opportunity. I finally made it back here and I feel there are a few similarities between my situation and those of the people who make use of the Center’s resources.
There are people searching for jobs, for skills, for a chance to start over. Having moved so often in my youth I am no stranger to beginning anew. This state I left as a young child is both familiar and alien. I must learn new ways of thinking, stretch my talents so they grow to benefit others, and manage to communicate effectively with others who speak a language I do not know.
I am excited about this new chance, this revival, this ability to step into unknowns and emerge from the other side changed for the better.
The Center boasts a warm space, dedicated staff, eager volunteers, and hard-working patrons. There are dreams for the future nestled in the gardens they’ve planted and with time and cooperation those seeds will grow and bloom into realities for all who are touched by the Center. I look forward to being a part of a Center that truly cares about its community, that provides tools to better oneself, and that has so many walking around the grounds and offices with a sparkle in their eye and a smile on their face.
From this moment on, I’ll keep you updated on events, stories, and resources for the Day Worker Center. One day soon I hope to also post in Spanish! Feel free to let me and the others at the Center know about the things you want to see and hear on this blog.

Michon

2 Responses to “Revival”

  1. Maria Marroquin May 21, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

    Michon, such a nice blog!
    Welcome on board:)

    • Keizick May 21, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

      I’m so glad to be here.

Leave a Reply

