Cartas Perdidas

17 Aug

Lost Letters

Participants at the Mountain View Day Worker Center wrote letters to friends and loved ones speaking about their struggles, longing, and hope.

Participantes en el Mountain View Day Worker Center escribieron cartas a sus amigos y seres queridos hablado sobre sus luchas, deseos, y esperanzas.

———————————————-

Queridos hijos,

¿Cómo están? Yo aquí me encuentro bien. No se preocupen por mí. Lo único que me preocupa es que estoy muy lejos de ustedes, de no poder verlos cara a cara, de cuánto los amo a cada uno de ustedes, de no poder viajar personalmente. Me alegra poder comunicarnos por teléfono y hablar con ustedes todos los domingos. Les deseo muchas felicidades a cada uno de ustedes.

Su mamá que les quiere mucho,

Ludgarda

Dear children,

How are you? I find myself well here. Don’t worry about me. The only thing that worries me is that I am very far away from all of you, of not being able to see each of you face to face, of how much I love each and every one of you, of not being there in person. I’m glad that we can communicate through the telephone and speak with each of you every Sunday. I wish you happiness.

Your mom who loves you,

Ludgarda

———————————————-

Hola querida hermana,

Te escribo desde este lugar, que es un área del estado de California. Tal vez tú nunca tengas que venir aquí, pero te explico que la vida aquí es bastante diferente. Me gustaría que fuera como tener una cámara de video y grabar todos los incidentes y las anécdotas que pasan aquí, pero sé que es casi imposible. Para mí continúa siendo como un sueño. Pero a veces la presión de la falta de trabajo, la renta, y las cosas personales que uno requiere lo hacen volver a la realidad.

También te cuento que ya no son las mismas energías ni el entusiasmo de hace algunos años, ahora tengo cierto temor porque mi organismo está un poco deteriorado físicamente. Empiezo a ver la vida de otra manera. Tal vez dentro de diez años me comprendas, tal vez ahora no. Ahora tú eres joven y fuerte como yo era antes. El trabajo mermó mis capacidades físicas, pero espero regresar pronto y hacer aún varias cosas. No te asustes, sólo es disminución física, no es enfermedad.

Con amor,

Chinanteco

Hello beloved sister,

I write to you from this place, it’s an area in the state of California. Perhaps you will never need to come here, but let me explain, life here is very different. I wish it could be like having a video camera and recording all the incidents and anecdotes that happen here, but that’s nearly impossible. It still feels like a dream to me. But sometimes the pressure from not having a job, the rent, and the personal things that one requires return me to reality.

Let me tell you, as well, that I no longer have the same energy nor enthusiasm of several years ago, now I have a certain fear because my body is a bit physically deteriorated. I’m starting to see life in a different way. Maybe in ten years you will understand, perhaps not today. Today you are young and strong like I used to be. Work has diminished my physical capabilities, but I hope to return soon and still do many things. Don’t be frightened, it’s only physical diminution, not illness.

With love,

Chinanteco

———————————————-

Querida Liz,

Quisiera saber cómo estás. Si eres feliz, si ya te casaste, si tienes hijos, y si todavía te acuerdas de mí, porque yo sí me acuerdo mucho de ti. Fuiste y serás una persona especial en mi vida. Yo estoy viviendo en los Estados Unidos. Me está yendo más o menos, y no me he casado. Me vine para cumplir mis sueños y sacar a mis abuelos adelante. Espero que tú seas feliz porque te lo mereces. Eres una gran mujer y quisiera algún día volver a verte querida amiga. Adiós, te cuidas, y algún día regresaré para vernos y platicar de todo lo que nos pasa en este tiempo, porque yo sí tengo muchas cosas que compartir.

Cuídate mucho y échale ganas,

Alondra

Dear Liz,

I would like to know how you are doing. If you are happy, if you’ve married, if you have children, if you still remember me, because I remember you a lot. You were and will be a special person in my life. I am living in the United States. It’s going so so, and I haven’t married. I came here to fulfill my dreams and to support my grandparents. I hope that you are happy because you deserve it. You are a great woman and I hope to see you again someday my dear friend. Goodbye, take care, and I will return some day so we can see each other and chat about everything that is happening nowadays, because I have many things to share.

Take care and keep on going,

Alondra

One Response to “Cartas Perdidas”

  1. Elliot Margolies August 18, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    This is my favorite blog entry yet. How sweet and intimate are these letters. Thanks to the day workers for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

