Misunderstood

7 Jul

In our English class at the Day Worker Center, we discussed times when our limited English led to funny misunderstandings.

Cuando apenas comence  a asistir a las clases de ingles luego de haberme ausentado por un tiempo; regrese a classes de nuevo y la maestra se alegra de verme y dijo “I’m glad to see you ‘back’ pero yo le entendi  que me dijo que me veia bien por “atras.”

“I remember when I was a beginning ESL student and had missed a few classes. When I returned to class, the teacher exclaimed that it was good to see me back.  I wondered throughout the class why she made that comment about my “back.”

Leave a Reply

