A Man is Measured by His Dreams

7 Jun

English below Spanish.

quiero escribir estas lineas,recordando a mi padre una inspiracion en mi vida aunque el ya no esta conmigo pero yo soy su continuacion yo soy parte de su semilla, el me enceno a descubrir este mundo el me decia que la vida de una persona no son los anos que tiene sino los suenos que tiene porque los suenos son la vida, recuerdo esos dias cuando caminabamos juntos por las calles de mi barrio contandome historias sorprendentes una de esas historias es cuando el gano el campionato de los guantes de oro en la ciudad de mexico, cuando juntos hibamos a jugar footboll y apezar de que ya no era tan chico hiba por mi ala escuela mi infancia con mi padre fue muy feliz mi padre era dado ala lectura lo cual inculco en mi el me enceno aesforzarme a prepararme para la vida y se esforzo para darme educacion , despues cuando vinieron los anos de adoleciencia vino la preocupacion por mi porque la rebeldia comenzo en mi apezar de todo el siguio apoyando en mis deciciones de una cosa estoy seguro mi padre vivira conmigo hasta el ultimo dia de mi vida..

This was written in an intermediate English conversation class held at the Day Worker Center of Mountain View. English translation will appear below.

A Man is Measured by His Dreams

I want to write these words to remember my father. He is an inspiration in my life although he is no longer here, and he lives on in me. He taught me to see the world, telling me that a person’s life isn’t the sum of his years, but instead of his dreams, because dreams are life. I remember those days when we would walk together through the streets of our neighborhood and he’d tell me amazing stories. One of those stories was about when he won the golden glove tournament in Mexico City. We’d also play soccer together, even though he wasn’t young anymore. He’d pick me up from school. My childhood with my father was very happy. He had a love for reading, which I also learned from him. He prepared me for life by teaching me to give my best, and he worked hard to give me an education. Later when I entered my teenage years he began to worry about me, because I became rebellious. But despite everything he continued to support my decisions. One thing I am certain of is that my father will live with on with me until the last day of my life.

Leave a Reply

